Training Coordinator of the Year

Nominations are being accepted for the 2024 Training Coordinator of the Year. This award is presented to an exceptional trainer at the annual training conference being held this year April 10-12, 2024 in Appleton, WI. Nominations may be made by anyone, but one active member who is familiar with the candidate must either nominate or endorse the nomination.

  • Complete a nomination either online or in print form. (Please note Candidate Nomination Criteria below.)
  • Attach a letter directed to the LETOA President describing the attributes of the candidate based on the Candidate Selection Considerations listed below.
  • Note: More than one person may nominate a candidate. Please include a separate form and, if desired, a separate letter.
Candidate Nomination Criteria
  • Nominations may be made by anyone; however, one active LETOA member who is familiar with the candidate must either nominate or endorse the nomination.
  • Active in law enforcement training in Wisconsin.
  • Previous receipt of this award as well as rank or position of the candidate(s) shall not be considered.
Candidate Selection Considerations
  • Considered worthy based on teaching assignments.
  • Participation in classroom activity.
  • Displayed constructive teaching innovation.
  • Displayed creativity.
  • Research and development of improved training standards.
  • Dedication to philosophy of quality training
  • Effectiveness to accomplish a task.
  • Ability to motivate others.
  • Serve as an example of leadership in the field of law enforcement training.
  • Contributions to law enforcement training made by candidate.
  • Generate respect of his/her peers.
  • Demonstrated ability to recognize the need for training improvements, when appropriate.
  • Possess a broad knowledge of professional law enforcement training.

Previous Training Coordinator award recipients include:

  • 1994 – Tom Witczak
  • 1995 – Dennis Hanson
  • 1996 – Clark Pagel
  • 1997 – Marty Drapkin
  • 1998 – Bob Teets
  • 1999 – Ray Appel
  • 2000 – Terry Fell
  • 2001 – John Stransky
  • 2002 – Gary Hodorski
  • 2003 – Clark Pagel
  • 2004
  • 2005 – Jerry Halbleib
  • 2006 – Liz Paape
  • This list will be updated when possible