President’s Message

A message from current association president Lt. Chad Gruenstern from the Neenah Police Department.

Welcome to the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Training Officers’ Association, affectionately known as LETOA (pronounced LEE-toe). Our organization has been around since its inception in 1966 and has become the premiere law enforcement training organization in Wisconsin. 

Each year, LETOA holds a conference to provide top notch training to the officers in our state responsible for training other officers. The conference consists of presentations brought in from around the country (and sometimes from outside the United States) from experts in fields such as officer wellness, firearms, defensive tactics, instructor development, significant call break downs, and more. The training applies not only patrol officers, but also for field training officers, corrections, and communications.

Our new members-only website offers trainers from across the state the ability to share training videos, documents, scenarios, etc. If you are a trainer, consider joining our organization, coming to a conference, and take your training to the next level. As stated by Richard Neil, “Just as police officers are the barbed wire that protects the sheep from the wolves, police instructors are the posts that provide them with a foundation of strength.”

Past LETOA Presidents

Joseph Maciejewski (1966)
James Carroll (1967, 1968)
Rudy Teschan (1969, 1970)
James Jerdee (1971, 1972)
Ken Grover (1973, 1977)
James Jansen (1974)
Ed Krueger (1975, 1980, 1981)
Fred Engebretsen (1976)
James Jeatran (1978)
Tom Donovan (1979)
Skip Praefke (1982, 1983, 1984)
Keith Potter (1985, 1986, 1987, 1988)
Tom Witczak (1989, 1990, 1991)
John “Tony” Barthuly (1992, 1993, 1994, 1995)
Clark Pagel (1996, 1997, 1998, 1999)
Ray Appel (2000, 2001)
Paul Clarke (2002, 2003)
Jeff Kostner (2004, 2005)